Courthouse Logo
Department header image
Spokane County Courthouse
1116 West Broadway Ave
Spokane, WA 99260
Contact Us
Skip Navigation Links
Sign up for my email newsletter
Print this page 
Email this page to a friend 

Your questions, comments, and suggestions about this page help us evaluate how well we are doing at providing clear and concise information.

The suggestion field is required. Please provide an email address or contact information if you would like a response.

Al French, County Commissioner - District 3

Al FrenchAfter serving in the U.S. Marine Corps from 1969 to 1972, Al moved to Moscow, Idaho to attend the University of Idaho where he received his Bachelor of Architecture degree with a minor in Business Finance in 1977.

Prior to his election to the Spokane City Council in 2002, Al served on numerous boards and commissions throughout the region, especially donating his service and expertise to neighborhood committees in Spokane.

Al has more than 30 years experience as a successful businessman, architect, investment consultant, and developer in the Spokane region.  He has both attracted and assisted new businesses in the region and will use that experience as the newest Spokane County Commissioner.


  • American Public Transportation Association’s National “Outstanding Board Member of the Year for 2008”
  • Community Development Department “Certificate of Appreciation”
  • Economic Development Service Award
  • GMA Steering Committee of Elected Officials “Certificate of Appreciation”
  • Inland Empire Kiwanis “Man of the Year Award”
  • Northeast Community Center “Outstanding Service Award”
  • Spokane Police Department “Certificate of Appreciation”
  • Spokane Transit Authority “Certificate of Appreciate” (twice)

Boards, Commissions and Committees:

  • Aging and Long Term Care
  • Airport Board, Chair (Executive Committee, Chair; Finance Committee; Personnel Committee; Planning and Engineering Committee)
  • Downtown Spokane Partnership
  • Greater Spokane Incorporated
  • Growth Management Steering Committee of Elected Officials
  • Industrial Development Board
  • Law Library Board
  • Lodging Tax Advisory Committee
  • Martin Hall Consortium
  • Medical Examiner Advisory Council
  • Municipal Research Services Center, President (Executive Committee, Chair; Strategic Planning Committee)
  • Solid Waste Liaison Board
  • Spokane County Board of Commissioners, 2014 Chair
  • Spokane County Campus Security Committee
  • Spokane County Finance Committee
  • Spokane County Interstate Fair Board, Ex-officio position
  • Spokane Regional Clean Air Agency, Chair
  • Spokane County Regional Health District Board
  • Spokane County Solid Waste
  • Spokane Regional Transportation Council
  • Spokane Transit Authority Board of Directors (Planning and Development Committee, Chair; Operations Committee)
  • Washington State Association of Counties, Eastern Regional Officer Representative
  • Washington State Building Code Council, Eastern Washington
  • Washington State Freight Mobility Strategic Investment Board (FMSIB), Advisory Committee representing counties.

Community Groups:

  • Community Assembly, Past Chair
  • Community Development Board, Past Chair
  • Economic Development Council, Board Member
  • FEMA Community Emergency Response Team, Trainer
  • Health Improvement Partnership
  • Nevada-Lidgerwood Neighborhood Council, Past Chair
  • Northeast Community Center Board Member and Past Chair
  • SNEDA, Secretary/Treasurer