"Deadliest 100 Days" Reminder for Teen Drivers
Memorial Day to Labor Day
SPOKANE COUNTY, June 28, 2018 – With the Fourth of July holiday fast approaching, this is a reminder that we are in the midst of the “Deadliest 100 Days of Summer” – from Memorial Day to Labor Day. According to the Washington State Department of Transportation, in 2017, there were more than a thousand crashes involving teen drivers in Spokane County. The American Automobile Association (AAA) reports the same period (June, July, August) fatal crashes involving teens increased by 14 percent.
Washington State tries to keep distractions for teen drivers to a minimum by requiring a probationary license period (RCW 46.20.075: Intermediate license). For the first six months, teen drivers are not allowed to have any passengers under the age of 20 unless they are with an immediate family member. After six months, they may have up to three passengers under the age of 20. For the first year, teen drivers can’t drive between the hours of 1:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless with a licensed driver who is at least 25 years old. If a driver violates any of these laws, they will first receive a warning. For a second offense, their license is suspended for up to six months.
This summer, remind your teen drivers to: slow down, calm down, and to put down their cell phones.