Spokane County Sheriff’s Office Marine Enforcement Deputies charged 43-year-old Marvin L. Olson for Assault by Watercraft as a result of a nighttime boat collision on Long Lake where an adult female received serious but non-life threatening injuries.
The incident occurred on June 28, 2016 at approximately 11:30 p.m. on Long Lake in Spokane County but was not reported until the next morning.
As Deputy Travis Pendell investigated this incident, he learned the victim boat was not moving or anchored and had its anchor light, red/green navigation lights and two cabin lights on. Two occupants were sitting at the back of the boat and one was in the front cabin.
The boat operated by Olson was traveling from Suncrest Park to Willow Bay Resort when his boat struck the victim boat, causing the victim in the cabin to be thrown around violently. Investigators believe Olson was operating his boat in excess of the wake speed while within 100’ of another boat and/or the 15 mph speed limit at night. Olson assisted the victim boat to the dock and helped carry the victim to the vehicle used to transport her to the hospital.
The other occupants of the boats were uninjured or received minor injuries.
Olson was transported and booked into the Spokane County Jail for Assault by Watercraft (RCW 79A.60.060).
The Spokane County Sheriff’s Office and Marine Enforcement Unit would like to remind boaters in Spokane County to stay safe this holiday weekend by wearing a life jacket and staying sober while on the water.
Additional Info Regarding Washington State Parks Boating Laws http://parks.state.wa.us/435/Boating
Reporting an Accident
A boater who is involved in an accident must stop his or her vessel immediately at the scene of the accident and assist injured people or anyone in danger, unless doing so would endanger his or her own vessel or passengers. In some circumstances, the boater operating the vessel must submit a written accident report.
Accident report forms are available from Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission and local law enforcement marine units. Washington State law requires the operator of a recreational vessel involved in an accident to file a Washington Boat Accident Report when:
• Loss of life occurs
• Injury occurs which requires medical treatment beyond first aid
• A person disappears from a vessel under circumstances that indicate death or injury
• Property damage is in excess of $2,000, or there is complete loss of a vessel
If there is an injury, disappearance or death, a report must be submitted within 48 hours. Reports in other accidents must be submitted within 10 days. If the operator cannot submit the report, the owner of the vessel is responsible.
Reports must be submitted to the law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction where the accident occurred. If you are not sure what agency has the authority, contact the Washington State Boating Program by email or call 360-902-8555.
The report is confidential and will only be used by government agencies for statistical purposes. Failure of an operator to submit a report can result in a fine