Racial Equity

The mission of the SJRLC Racial Equity subcommittee is to develop a clear and complete action plan to address the disproportionate impact on people of color within our regional criminal justice system as a matter of fairness and integrity.

Currently the Racial Equity subcommittee meets on the 1st Thursday of each month at City Hall in room 5A from noon to 1:30 p.m.   These meetings are open to the public.  

Regular Meetings:

  • Noon - 1:30 p.m.
  • 1st Thursday of each month
  • Spokane City Hall
    Room 5A 


Burns Institute Presentation 7/13/16

Burns Institute RED training 4/14/17

Agendas & Minutes:

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agenda (PDF) | View All Agendas and Minutes


  • Chair: Carmen Pacheco-Jones, Community Member
  •  Vice Chair:
  • Mubarek Abdur Raheem, City Prosecutors
  • Francis Adewale, City Public Defenders
  • Bonnie Bush, Juvenile Court
  • Melissa Haney, County Public Defenders
  • Mark Lorenz, County Public Defenders
  • Kurtis Robinson, Community Member