Learn About the Regional Solid Waste System

SW Flow

Spokane County Regional Solid Waste System (SCRSWS)

The Regional Solid Waste System was originally formed in 1988 by an interlocal agreement between Spokane County, the City of Spokane, and other regional cities and jurisdictions. Under that agreement, the City of Spokane took on the ownership and operation of county-wide solid waste disposal. On November 17, 2014, a new interlocal agreement was initiated. Under the new agreement, the ownership and management of the solid waste system was transferred from the City of Spokane to Spokane County. The exception to this transfer was the ownership of the Waste to Energy facility and the Northside Landfill, which are both retained by the City of Spokane with the agreement that Spokane County directs waste flow from the transfer stations to the Waste to Energy facility. 

The County is responsible for providing the framework for solid waste disposal, recycling, and educational outreach programs in unincorporated Spokane County and SCRSWS member jurisdictions (see "Member Jurisdictions" below). The planning information provided in the Spokane County Comprehensive Solid Waste Management Plan will guide the solid waste decisions and activities of the SCRSWS.

Regional Disposal Locations

There are three Regional Disposal Locations for self-haul disposal in Spokane County.  Each location accepts trash, recyclables, household hazardous waste, and yard/food waste.The Regional Disposal Locations Include:

Find a listing of Accepted Materials, and visit each facility’s page above for fees and location information.

Member Jurisdictions

The following municipalities and jurisdictions have signed an inter-local agreement with Spokane County to participate in the Regional Solid Waste System (SCRSWS). Member jurisdictions are an important part of providing recommendations and guidance during the Comprehensive Solid Waste Management planning process for the county and are eligible for Public Outreach and Education Programs offered through SCRSWS. The members are as follows: