Growth Management Steering Committee

Regular Meetings

  • Quarterly

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available two weeks prior to the meetings in the Agenda Center. Minutes are available following approval. All documents considered  by the Steering Committee are available on our Steering Committee Documents/Recordings page.

About the Committee

The Growth Management Steering Committee of Elected Officials was established in 1995 by the Spokane County Board of County Commissioners to oversee growth and development planning for the Spokane region.  Membership includes elected officials from the Cities of Spokane, Spokane Valley, Liberty Lake, Airway Heights, Cheney, Deer Park, Medical Lake, Millwood and one elected official to represent the small towns of Fairfield, Latah, Rockford, Spangle and Waverly.  The Steering Committee includes four non-voting members representing school districts, water districts, fire protection districts and one citizen-at-large member.

The Steering Committee is a regional forum for urban growth issues and growth management planning that makes recommendations to the Spokane County Board of County Commissioners.  Some of the specific responsibilities of the Steering Committee are to:
  • Recommend establishment and distribution of future growth in Urban Growth Areas
  • Recommend minimum levels of service for Urban Growth Areas
  • Evaluate and recommend Countywide Planning Policies that support Growth Management and guide County and all cities Comprehensive Plans
The Steering Committee meets at least quarterly virtually (electronic means) and when possible in-person.  All meetings are open to the public by electronic means.