Structure of Government

Spokane County uses the commissioner form of County Government (PDF), as do 35 of the 39 Washington State counties. 

This form of government combines the county legislative and executive authorities and responsibilities in boards of county commissioners. Spokane County has a number of other elected officials, including:


Washington State Courts are organized into four levels:

  • Courts of Limited Jurisdiction: District and Municipal courts
  • Courts of General Jurisdiction: The Superior Court of Washington
  • Intermediate Appellate Court: The Court of Appeals of Washington
  • State Supreme Court: The Supreme Court of Washington

Please visit our Superior Court and District Court pages for more information.

Click to Expand County Organizational Chart:

County Organizational Chart_02.15.2022