WA State Region 9

Washington State Region 9 Homeland Security was formed to support Homeland Security Grants. Spokane County Emergency Management is the identified Lead to coordinate efforts within the region. The region consists of the Kalispell and Spokane Tribes, as well as the following ten counties:
  • Adams
  • Asotin
  • Columbia
  • Ferry
  • Garfield
  • Lincoln
  • Pend Oreille
  • Spokane
  • Stevens
  • Whitman County

Our Mission

The mission, as identified by the Region 9 council is to minimize the impact of emergencies and disasters on the people, property, economy, and environment of Washington State Homeland Security Region 9.

Core Values

Partnership & Leadership

Promote a collaborative environment for sharing information, resources, assistance, and expertise.


Interoperable Systems that provide critical information in a timely fashion to those who need it and in a form that is easy to use and understand. Communication between counties without interruptions is vital to all.

Prevent Attacks

A wide spectrum of prevention efforts which include intelligence and warning capabilities to ensure joint situational awareness, boarder security, domestic counterintelligence, and hardening of infrastructure.

Reduce Vulnerabilities

Protect our way of life by improving individual pieces and interconnecting systems that make up our critical infrastructure.

Education & Training

“Trained, Equipped, and Exercised.” Provide effective and comprehensive education for all first responders, emergency managers, citizens, volunteers, and private sector entities.

Minimize Damage & Recovery from Attacks

The objective is to minimize damage and recover rapidly from any attacks. Encompass an all-hazards approach.