Water Conservancy Board


  • 4pm on the 4th Monday of each month
  • Spokane County Water Resource Center
    1004 N Freya Street
    Spokane, WA  99202
5/20/19 Announcement:  The May Water Conservancy Board meeting is CANCELLED. Please email the board with any questions or concerns you were planning to bring before the board in May.  Note:  The meeting was originally moved from the 4th Monday to the 3rd Monday this month due to Memorial Day.
Announcement Until Positions Filled:  The Spokane County Water Conservancy Board has one (1) vacant position it is filling. The individual must hold a water right. If interested, please review the Question & Answer link on the right side of this page.  Go to How to Apply for application and instructions.


  • Craig Schwyn
  • Toni Taylor, Chair
  • Tony Kiepe
  • Diana Wilhite
  • Kelly Williquette


In 1997 the Legislature authorized creation of water conservancy boards under Chapter 90.80 RCW (Water Conservancy Boards) to enable the processing of water-right transfer and change applications at the local level. This legislation allows counties to establish water conservancy boards as independent units of local government through resolution of the county or counties that it serves and approval by the Department of Ecology. All water conservancy board decisions are ultimately reviewed and affirmed, reversed, or modified by Ecology.

The Spokane County Water Conservancy Board consists of 5 commissioners. All board commissioners must receive training from the Department of Ecology before participating in any decision on a water-right transfer application. A water conservancy board can serve a single watershed, multiple watersheds, a county, or multiple counties. There are currently 17 water conservancy boards operating in Washington.