Noxious Weed Board Members

The Spokane County Noxious Weed Control Board consists of five volunteer members who represent different geographical sections of Spokane County (Map of Board Member Districts).  They are appointed by the Spokane County Commissioners and serve four year terms.

The responsibilities of the Noxious Weed Board include:

  • Establishing policies and procedures in accordance with RCW 17.10 and WAC 16-751
  • Annually adopt the Spokane County Noxious Weed List
  • Conduct Board Meetings throughout the year (refer to meeting schedule below)
  • Represent the people and interests of the district from which they are appointed
  • Propose an annual budget for the continued operations of the Noxious Weed Control Board Program
  • Conduct hearings with landowners regarding the enforcement of noxious weeds
  • Submit to the Board of County Commissioners a proposed level of assessment

Spokane County Noxious Weed Control Board Members:

Brian Ewart                District 1 - All of north Spokane County, including:  Deer Park, Chattaroy, Nine Mile Falls and Mead

Paul Puhek, Chair     District 2 - The Foothills area, City of Spokane Valley, Valleyford and east to the Idaho State Line

Joseph Coombs        District 3 - Southeast Spokane County, including the towns of Fairfield, Waverly and Spangle

Chip Magnuson         District 4 - The entire southwest portion of Spokane County, including Cheney and Tyler

Paul Gross                 District 5 - Northwest portion, including Medical Lake, Airway Heights, north to Stevens County

Pat Munts                   Ex-Officio - Represents WSU/Spokane County Extension

Map of Noxious Weed Board Districts

2020 Board Meeting Schedule

Due to social distancing guidelines, the Spokane County Noxious Weed Control Board meetings will be done by TELECONFERENCE.  All meetings are open to the public. Please give us a call at 509-477-5777 to confirm the meeting date and time and for information on how to participate.

  •  February 19th at 5:30 p.m.   
  •  May 20th at 6:30 p.m.      
  •  June 17th at 6:30 p.m.      
  •  July 15th at 6:30 p.m.            
  •  September 16th at 6:30 p.m.        AGENDA 
  •  October 21st at 6:30 p.m.             
  •  December 9th at 1:30 p.m.