Spokane County
1116 W. Broadway Ave
Spokane, WA 99260
Contact Us

County Government

Our Mission

Spokane County government is dedicated to enhancing and protecting the quality of life for all citizens through the pursuit of excellence in responsive, cost-effective and customer-driven services. View Spokane County's 2016 Strategic Plan.

Our Vision

To be the state's flagship government agency renowned for innovative leadership and customer-oriented services aligned to community needs.

What We Do

Spokane County government serves all the residents of Spokane County. Our section on County Government Structure is provided to assist the public in understanding the scope of services provided at the county level. Within the boundaries of Spokane County are numerous incorporated cities.  Links have been provided to assist you in navigating to those sites also.

Spokane County employs over 2000 individuals to help meet the public needs of the 485,000 County residents. There are more than 50 departments which provide a variety of services, some of which include:

  • Public safety - protection, crime prevention, jail, Block Watch, Emergency Search and Rescue, 911 Emergency Communications, Sheriff's Deputies
  • Road system - road construction and year-round maintenance of 2500 miles of paved roads
  • Recreation opportunities - recreational programs and more than 30 parks including one for off road vehicles, the Interstate Fairgrounds, three golf courses, and three lakes
  • Court services - the ability to pursue legal remedies through District, Juvenile and Superior Courts
  • Record maintenance - recording and filing of legal documents (public record requests)
  • Elections - facilitating the electoral process
  • Regional planning - growth management within Spokane County
  • Property valuation and tax collections - valuation of property, collecting revenue to ensure public health, safety, and welfare

Where We Are Located

The majority of County business takes place at the main county campus in Spokane, Washington, as listed on the County Campus Map and Driving Directions page.

County Government Structure

Spokane County uses the commissioner form of county government,  as do 35 of the 39 Washington State counties. This form of government combines the county legislative and executive authorities and responsibilities in boards of county commissioners. Please visit the Board of County Commissioners page learn more about our Commissioners and the County departments that are under their jurisdiction. Spokane County has a number of other elected officials: Assessor, Auditor, Clerk, Prosecuting Attorney, Sheriff, and Treasurer.  

Washington State Courts are organized into four levels:

  • Courts of Limited Jurisdiction: District and Municipal courts
  • Courts of General Jurisdiction: The Superior Court of Washington
  • Intermediate Appellate Court: The Court of Appeals of Washington
  • State Supreme Court: The Supreme Court of Washington

Please visit our Superior Court and District Court pages for more information.

City Government

County Government

State Government

Federal Government