Courthouse Logo
Building & Planning
Public Works Building
1026 West Broadway
Spokane, WA 99260
Contact Us
Department of Building and Planning
Print this page 
Email this page to a friend 

Building Permits

The following needs to be provided when you submit an application for a building permit:

  1. Parcel number and legal description (this information can be found on your property tax statement or may be obtained from the County Assessor’s Office.)
  2. Street address (if your property does not have an address, one will be assigned at the time of permit application.)
  3. One set of working drawings that should include a foundation plan, floor plan, elevations, cross sections, and structural detail. Some unconventional construction such as log and earth shelter homes, and retaining walls may require plans stamped by an architect or engineer licensed in the State of Washington.
  4. Site plan on an 8-½ x 11 sheet of paper (please indicate the scale you used and a marker showing the direction of north; location and dimension of all property lines, easements, and existing and proposed structures on the property. Also indicate if the project will be located within 250 feet of a body of water or wetland and show the ordinary high water mark. Your site plan also needs to show the location of proposed or existing sewage disposal system or sewer line, wells and water lines.)

Other types of permits may also be required for your project. Plumbing or mechanical, change of use, fire sprinkler and alarm systems, grading, demolition, are some of the other common permits required. Permit fees vary with the type of permit issued, however, most fees are based upon the valuation of the project.

Permit and fee information may be obtained from the Department of Building and Planning located on the first floor of the Public Works Building (1026 West Broadway). If you would like to talk to one of our representatives, you can call 477-3675 Monday through Thursday between the hours of 7:30 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. and Fridays from 7:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m..