Spokane County
1116 W. Broadway Ave
Spokane, WA 99260
Contact Us

Spokane County’s Commute Trip Reduction Program Honors Participants at “Way to Go” Awards Ceremony on Thursday, February 6th

February 03, 2014 Aurora Crooks
Transportation Demand Manager
(509) 477-7540

Spokane County’s Annual “Way to Go” awards ceremony brings together the business community, elected officials, and clean air advocates to honor those whose leadership and extraordinary efforts are reducing vehicle emissions by finding alternatives to solo commute trips to-and-from work.

The Washington State Commute Trip Reduction Law was passed in 1991 as part of the Clean Air Act.  As a result of the Commute Trip Reduction Law, over 7,660 fewer daily vehicle trips are taken, and 156,264 vehicle miles traveled are not driven each day in Spokane County. To help put this into perspective, the circumference of the earth is 24,902 miles which means Spokane’s commute alternative users reduced the distance driven around the world by 6.28 times.

Each year, the commute trip reduction program prevents at least 239 tons of carbon monoxide, 6,938 tons of carbon dioxide and 7,300 tons of greenhouse gases from being emitted in Spokane's air!

This year’s Master of Ceremonies is Mr. Steve Blaska, Director of Operations for Spokane Transit Authority.  Attending the event will be Mayor Patrick Rushing, City of Airway Heights, Councilmembers Teresa Overhauser and Graeme Webster, City of Cheney, Mayor Steve Peterson, City of Liberty Lake, Councilmember Laura Parson, City of Medical Lake, Mayor David Condon, Councilmembers Amber Waldref and Candace Mumm, City of Spokane, Deputy Mayor Arne Woodard and Councilmember Rod Higgins, City of Spokane Valley, Spokane County’s Chief Operations Officer, John Dickson, and other elected officials and leaders in the business community.

The “Way To Go” Awards Ceremony will begin at 11:30 a.m. in the Grand Pennington Ballroom of the Davenport Hotel on Thursday, February 6th, and is by invitation only. During the ceremony, local businesses and individuals will be honored for their outstanding achievements and support of the Commute Trip Reduction Program. 

For more information, contact Aurora Crooks, Transportation Demand Management Manager at (509) 477-7540 or acrooks@spokanecounty.org. 

-# # #-