Courthouse Logo
Department header image
Spokane County Courthouse
1116 West Broadway Ave
Spokane, WA 99260
Contact Us
Skip Navigation Links
Print this page 
Email this page to a friend 

Your questions, comments, and suggestions about this page help us evaluate how well we are doing at providing clear and concise information.

The suggestion field is required. Please provide an email address or contact information if you would like a response.

Shelly O'Quinn, County Commissioner, District 2

Elected in November 2012, Shelly O’Quinn is in her first term as a Spokane County Commissioner for District 2. Prior to joining the County, Shelly served as the Director of Education and Workforce Development for Greater Spokane Incorporated, the region’s Chamber of Commerce and Economic Development Council. She worked closely with our K-12 and Higher Education institutions to meet the needs of our local business for a highly educated and skilled workforce, now and in the future. Her portfolio also consisted of working with the region’s manufacturing, aerospace, and health care industries and a focus on state and federal policy.

Shelly’s unique background provides a diverse array of experiences from small business development in Honduras, to running a homeless mission/outreach ministry in Florida, to non-profit management in our local community. Her interest in politics developed when she served as the founding Executive Director for the George Nethercutt Foundation, a civic engagement and leadership program for college students.

Shelly has an MBA from the Monterey Institute for International Studies in California and a BA in Accounting and Business Administration from Whitworth University. On the family side, Shelly has two beautiful boys, Ryland and Iaim. In her free time, she enjoys spending time with her family, training for triathlons and reading.

Boards and Commissions

  • Solid Waste Advisory Committee
  • Spokane County Campus Security Committee (Chair)
  • Spokane Transit Authority
  • Greater Spokane Inc. Board (Chair)
  • Workforce Development Council